Caitlyn Jenner Confronts Her LGBT Critics At A High School In Strong Video


The LGBT community has had a rocky romantic relationship with Caitlyn Jenner more than the past yr.

When the actuality star and former Olympic athlete announced her transition by way of the landmark Vanity Honest cover. many applauded her bravery. She was hailed as a hero to the transgender local community and was awarded the Arthur Ashe Courage Award at the ESPYs in 2015. Nonetheless, given that coming out, several truly feel Caitlyn has been a significantly less-than-perfect icon for the LGBT community.

She not too long ago sort of endorsed Ted Cruz in the presidential election, regardless of his notorious anti-gay politics.

For a time, she did not assistance legalizing exact same-sex marriage. although she has considering that amended her place on it. Needless to say, Caitlyn has faced ample criticism from the LGBT community, including from college students Joshua and Spencer from a LGBT alliance at a Brooklyn high school.

As element of a New York Times video, Caitlyn went to surprise some of her younger critics and listen to their complaints face to encounter. The students had no notion they would have a visitor for their meeting. [Caitlyn Jenner’s] privileged and she does not use her privilege to advocate for those who cannot talk for themselves. Needless to say, they have been type of stunned to see a popular celebrity in their classroom.

But as soon as they recovered from the initial shock, the college students did not hold back with their inquiries for Caitlyn. Joshua asked the star if she felt she deserved the Arthur Ashe Courage Award she obtained. Caitlyn responded, I was really honored. I knew it was so important what I stated there for everybody. I’m quite happy that it gave me that platform. Regardless of whether I deserved it or not — who cares? Subsequent yr, there’ll be a new man or woman. Caitlyn also acknowledged her privilege, but explained she had nothing to apologize for. She mentioned, I was a privileged white male, so I’ve gotten very criticized for that inside of the trans local community. What do I know? Really I know a lot. I will never ever ever make excuses for working tough all my existence. And currently being productive and raising a wonderful family of children. Trans folks can transition in private. I have not had that luxury since of who I am and ‘that privilege.’ Whether or not her answers will satisfy those who criticize her stays to be noticed. Either way, props to Caitlyn for dealing with her critics head on in a respectful method.

 

